Vagabond Gaming – Week 6: It’s official, I have a collection

Never, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever install steam on to your computer. The sales are too good. the acquisition of games is too easy. The purchase procedure is too easy. It is the iTunes of PC gaming. I have got an MMO collection now. In fact it is possible that my total PC game purchases are close to being majoritavely MMO’s.

Now that I consider it I own an account in the following:

  • Dark Age of Camelot
  • Final Fantasy XI – All Expansions
  • World of Warcraft – The Burning Crusade (Buying Wrath of the Lich King on return to Australia)
  • Dungeon and Dragons Online (On launch so it counts as a buy)
  • Age of Conan
  • Vanguard
  • Champions Online
  • Star Trek online
  • And most recently, Everquest with 15 Expansions.

This isn’t even taking into account Free to Play games which I visit semi regularly like Allods. if you hear Jeremy and Beau on the most recent MMO voices podcast there is a moment of comparing who has the most games on their desktop. Dozens each it seems. This being the exact situation I hope for once I have a machine with more than may laptops 250 gig Hard Drive.

Anyway, my point being is Steam is Evil. The last three purchased are thanks to Steam. Champions Online was aquired through an £8 sale. Star Trek Online was a preorder just because I was restless and got instant gratification through the Head start. Everquest I left downloading as I came to work today after grabbing it for £2. On top of all this I still wanted to buy Final Fantasy XI on Steam just because it would be an easier install then using the CD’s which came with my original purchase.

I am sure I will eventually add to my steam list as soon as EQ2 goes on sale next as well. In fact Steam is one of the reasons I want a better PC. The games are so accessible. Sadly once I get back to the land of metered internet downloads perhaps this whole love for Streaming games Direct to my computer will fade. Hopefully there are provisions for accessing Steam downloads. Now I think of it, maybe this is why I only fell in love with Steam while in the UK.

Anyway, it will be an interesting week as I will check out the forefather of many MMO games today, for the first time. Chances are though I will try to jump in on a trial key initially and activate my retail key and 30 days once I am back home as I leave the UK in less than 2 weeks now so a month sub would be pointless. Add to that I am three levels from unlocking my WoW Death Knight and that’s a week (On the free WotLK trial) of playing that class with time for little else as I will also be working 8 hours a day every day from this Saturday until the 31st.

Steam is evil. It will sell Games that appeal to you, for a good price when you least expect it and make it easy to hand over your payment.

You have been warned.

One thought on “Vagabond Gaming – Week 6: It’s official, I have a collection

Leave a Reply

